Pizzalympics Round 2: Luca’s

I don’t often read a restaurant’s menu before going to the restaurant, but when I do, I spend an inordinate amount of time salivating over practically every item. Ok, that first bit was a lie. I generally always read a restaurant menu before actually going there. My reason is twofold: 1. It helps me decide whether I actually want to eat there, and 2. It allows me to spend hours deciding what I want to eat instead of making a rushed decision.

Whilst reading Luca’s menu may have reaffirmed our decision to make it destination #2 on our quest for pizza-perfection, it did kind of obliterate my “less is more” mentality. The pizza menu is huge, canvassing the classics and the gourmet with equal devotion. I was hooked from word go!

GENERAL

Décor: I don’t remember much of the décor which leads me to conclude that it was not very memorable (I know, awesome detective work by yours truly).  This isn’t necessarily a negative, it just means I was too involved in conversation and/or sangria to give it much consideration.

Vibe:  Your normal Saturday night pizzeria vibe. Lots of families, lots of chatter.

Service: It had its moments. Whilst somewhat slow off the mark, our waiter was friendly and competent. Orders were taken correctly and food shot out the kitchen.

Pricing: I would say average for the area.  A few pizzalympians thought it was slightly overpriced but I would disagree (take my word for it, worth the money)

SCORING 

Base:

I ordered the “fresh pizza” and my base was perfect. It was thin, crispy and slightly charred on the edges. – just the way I like it. I found that of the comments relating to base, quite a few found it a bit dry –  I think this means that there wasn’t enough tomato coverage, but I cant be sure.

Average score: 4 out of 5

A coupla’ comments:  “Perfect clay oven taste” “great texture, right thickness, great crisp” “too dry” “nice & crispy, a little dry at times but mostly delish”

IMG_0089

IMG_0093

Toppings:

Luca’s topping selection is massive, from your run of the mill classics to the creative and quirky combinations.  My only complaint would be that because everything (and I do mean everything) sounded so delicious, I battled to make a decision. I’ll just have to go back again!

Average score: 4 out of 5

A coupla’ comments:  “Great combos, I loved my fresh pizza choice” “prosciutto was delicious, garlic puree was phenomenal” “rad, but missing something, I don’t know what” “oily”

IMG_0096

IMG_0097

Awesomeness:

Special mention must be made of the “fresh pizza” range –  Imagine something along the lines of a focaccia or pizza bianca with totally fresh toppings.  Worth the trip, no matter where you’re coming from. I had the porcini (wild mushrooms) , fior di latte mozzarella and avo fresh pizza. Beyond amazing.

Yes, there is sangria on offer and yes, it was delicious.

Average score: 4 out of 5

A coupla’ comments: “Great pizza, average pizza experience”  hmmm does this mean you didn’t like the company? “garlic sauce smiley face” “pretty awesome” “excellent”

IMG_0101

IMG_0103

Overall:  With  12 out of 15 Luca’s takes the lead!

Call me fickle but I think I’ve found my new favourite pizza place…well, until round 3, that is. Bravo Luca’s, bravo!

Luca’s 3 Achter Road, Cnr Witkoppen Rd
Sunninghill
Tel: 011 234 1085 / 083 601 8145

One thought on “Pizzalympics Round 2: Luca’s

  1. Pingback: Pizzalympics Results | Restauranteering

Leave a Reply

