Burgerlympics Round 7: Rocomamas, Rosebank

And finally, we made our way to Rocomamas (Rosebank). As I’ve mentioned before, Rocomamas do not take bookings. This annoys me. I understand the reasoning behind it but we’re guaranteeing you a fairly large table and you’re making money. Anyway, we all agreed to get there a little early and bag a table. I wasn’t first to arrive but was told that the staff was very accommodating and sorted out a table for us immediately. Considering it was 11h30 and the restaurant was not super busy, I don’t think this is anything to be blown away by.

GENERAL

Décor:

Wood. Wood everywhere. This, together with splatters of orange and black epitomizes Rocomamas’ decor. The restaurant is designed around its open plan kitchen and is modern and fun. The bright neon lights and cool sugar pour-ey things pay homage to old-school American diners.

Vibe:

We’ve been to Rocomamas more times than I can remember. If it is lunch or dinner time, it will be packed. Waiters are rushing around and there is a constant buzz coming from the kitchen. It isn’t really a place you go for a leisurely lunch but it’s definitely awesome for a pre or post party meal.

SCORING

Patty:

Rocomamas is all about the smash burger. A patty thrown on the grill and smooshed. It was quite thin but juicy and full of flavor. I’ve only ever had a beef burger so I’m not quite sure whether the chicken burger would be a fillet or a smashed chicken patty. I also don’t recall seeing a vegetarian option but I’m pretty sure there is one. I rate Rocomamas patties as some of the best I’ve ever had. Really tasty!

Average score – 7/10

A coupla’ comments –  “perfect pink”; “could have been more spiced but well-cooked and juicy”; “average, slightly under-cooked

8622afaf-f027-456f-862f-b2ff8a9d8246

63ba04cb-c663-4a19-a1af-fcf0eb1071b7

Toppings/Combos:

Rocomamas was the first to introduce the “build your own burger” concept (or at least it was the first place I saw it). If you can think of a topping, it will be there. There are a few ready-made options but nothing that will blow your mind. Get creative, build your own. There is only one choice of bread roll (didn’t see anything for our banting buddies –  if anyone still actually bants) but a roll is a roll, right?

I ordered my usual of bacon, avo and cheese. I chose blue cheese sauce instead of an actual slice of cheese and whilst delicious, it did make the burger sort of slippery.

Choice of sides is limited to just normal fries. They are great though, and the portion is huge.

Average score – 8/10

A coupla’ comments –  “coleslaw topping was amazing. Enjoyed the fries too”; “love that we can choose our own toppings and get exactly what we want”; “my choice so of course good”; “not enough cheese, bun was ice cold”

20160317010139

20160317010139 (1)

Ease of Consumption:

Rocomamas burgers are small, there’s not two ways about it. On a hungry day, you could probably devour this burger in two bites.  Naturally, the more toppings you pile on, the harder it’s going to be to eat. Mine was a little messy towards the end but this was because of the squishy mashed avo and runny blue cheese sauce. The patty itself holds together perfectly.

Average score – 7/10

A coupla’ comments –  “drip, drip”; “stayed together til the last bite”; “good because the burger was small”

20160306_121954

Service:

As mentioned above, the staff at Rocomamas Rosebank seated us quickly and without issues. Drinks orders were taken competently and quickly. In light of the fact that you basically order for yourself on a piece of paper, it’s hard to mess it up. Nonetheless, food is served quickly and we were in an out in about an hour and a half.

Average score –  7/10

A coupla’ comments – “can’t recall actually waiting”; “nothing wrong but nothing great”; “good”

Awesomeness:

The wings at Rocomama’s are awesome! They come in a variety of flavours and are perfectly cooked and smothered in incredible finger-licking sauce (Oops sorry, KFC). I suggest ordering them as a side to your burger or ask for a portion to start –  remember, the burgers are small so you will probably want a little something extra.

Average score – 7.5/10

A coupla’ comments – “great value for money”; “lacks a vibe but great for a quick burger”; “always satisfies”  

Overall: 36.5 out of 50

Surprisingly, Rocomamas didn’t do too well and is second from last. I think maybe the whole “build your own burger” concept has lost a little appeal, which coupled with the fact that the burgers were pretty small means it gets outclassed by other contenders.

That being said, I really love Rocomamas. It is a place I frequent often and I’m never disappointed. Would I book my birthday party here? No. But it’s perfect when you’re craving a proper burger meal.

Note: Rocomamas is a franchise and there are literally stores popping up everywhere. We went to the Rosebank branch but I can also recommend the Randburg one on Malibongwe.

ROCOMAMMAS

STANDARD BANK ROSEBANK BUILDING (NEXT DOOR TASHAS)

TEL: 010 007 2653

 

 

2 thoughts on “Burgerlympics Round 7: Rocomamas, Rosebank

  1. What English grammar is “”super busy” are we some poorly educated American teenagers and not super intelligent (sarcasm) or lacking in a decent vocabulary?

    Not “super busy” sounds so immature and childish

    • Hi Paul. Thanks for the unrelated comment. When I last checked, this was a blog about restaurant reviews and not about the English language.
      Whilst I am not a poorly educated American teenager (I am, in fact, a well educated 20-something South African holding both a law degree and a distinction in… you guessed it, English), I do use the term “super busy”. I quite like it actually and as this is my blog, I think I will use it again.

      Once again, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. For future reference, you may want to check your own grammar and punctuation before attempting to correct mine.

      Have to run, I’m super busy.

Leave a comment